International Life Cycle Board

The International Life Cycle Board (ILCB) is the governing body of the UNEP/SETAC Life Cycle Initiative. The ILCB decides on the work plan and carries out the supervision of all work elements. The ILCB meets twice a year, unless conditions and activities dictate additional meetings. The two founding organisations, UNEP and SETAC, appointed the first ILCB members. Subsequent members are appointed and approved by the ILCB itself.

Founding partners:

Timothy Kasten (UNEP DTIE Director ad interim, Chair) and Sonia Valdivia (UNEP DTIE, Secretariat) Charles Menzie (SETAC Global Executive Director), and Bruce Vigon (SETAC, Scientific Manager, Co-chair)

Supporting partners (relevant regional partners and international NGOs, listed alphabetically):

  • American Centre for LCA in Latin America – Ana Quiros (Costa Rica)
  • Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry – Sanjeevan Bajaj
  • Indira Ghandi Institute of Development and Research, India – Vinod Sharma
  • JRC European Commission – David Pennington
  • Sichuan University, China – Hongtao Wang
  • Hongtao Wang (Sichuan University)
  • Technical University Berlin, Germany – Matthias Finkbeiner (and ISO)
  • Ram Toolseeram (University of Mauritius)
  • University of California School of Public Health, USA – Tom McKone
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa – Harro von Blottnitz
  • University of Mauritius – Ram Toolseeram

Sponsoring partners (platinum level, listed alphabetically):

  • European Commission/ DG Environment – Peter Czaga
  • France/ Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development, Transport and Housing – Sylvain Chevassus
  • Japan/Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry – Atsushi Inaba
  • Switzerland / BAFU – Ruth Freiermuth Knuchel
  • USA/US Environmental Protection Agency – Angie Leith and Jane Bare

Sponsoring partners (gold level, listed alphabetically):

  • American Chemistry Council – Mike Levy
  • ExxonMobil Chemical – Abdelhadi Sahnoune
  • German Federal Ministry of Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety – Ulf Jaeckel
  • Instituto Brasileiro de Informação em Ciência e Tecnologia (IBICT) – Tiago Braga
  • International Council of Mining & Metals – John Atherton
  • Plastics Europe – Guy Castellan
  • thinkstep – Martin Baitz
  • Unilever – Henry King

Sponsoring partners (silver level, listed alphabetically):

  • Brazilian Life Cycle Association – Gil Anders and Luiz Gustavo
  • Pre Consultants, The Netherlands – Mark Goedkoop
  • UK/WRAP – Mark Barthel

Sponsoring partners (bronze level, listed alphabetically):

  • Fundaciòn Chile